The goal of the Nutmeg Book Award is to encourage children in grades 2-12 to read quality literature. The nominees are all published within the last five years, and are works of fiction or narrative nonfiction. Children’s librarians and school media specialists pick the nominees.

You get to vote on which nominees you think are the best!

There are different grade groups for voting:

  • Elementary (grades 2-3)
  • Intermediate (grades 4-6)
  • Middle School (grades 7-8)
  • High School (grades 9-12)

Students from any grade can read any grade group’s books that they feel comfortable reading. You can vote for one book from each grade group. See a complete list of the 2022 nominees below.

Voting runs from April 1 to April 30, 2022.

2022 Winners

2022 Nominees

2023 Nominees

Read ahead! Voting for these titles will take place in April 2023.

2021 Winners